Ellen video by CrossFit® View on YouTube

Ellen Downey knew what to expect when she was diagnosed with diabetes.

“I knew what diabetes could do,” she says. “I’d lived it. I’d seen it in my family. But I just
didn’t have the personal strength. I didn’t have the community or the dedication within
myself to control my emotional dependency on food.”

Steadily declining health eventually forced Downey to make a change. When a friend
introduced her to CrossFit, Downey quickly changed her life for the better. She recalls
her hesitancy before stepping into CrossFit Cardiff.

“I don’t know if CrossFit’s for me. … I don’t know if I’m ready yet,” she remembers
saying.

But she was ready. Through CrossFit, Downey recognized that she used food as an
emotional crutch. Today, she’s lost about 150 lb. and found a new outlet for her
emotions.

“Now, if I’m fed up, I’ll go and throw a barbell around.”

The CrossFit Journal — (http://bit.ly/2o27SRt)

The CrossFit Games® – The Sport of Fitness™
The Fittest On Earth™

View on YouTube

Leave a Reply

